Greencastle-Antrim football players collect honors

Staff Writer
Echo Pilot
Seniors on the 2010 Blue Devil football team were honored at a recognition banquet Dec. 4. The team went 10-0 in the regular season, was Mid-Penn Colonial Division Champion and advanced to the second round of the District 3-AA championships. Pictured from left: Jordan Ladzinski, Josh Pluta, Devin Schaeffer, Eric Metz, Brandon Davis, Kevin Castellar, Denton Ensminger, Chad Miller, Cody George, Cody Ezolt, Ben Harp, Gerardo Juarez, Trentin Dixon and Jake Statler. Not pictured: Jordan Koons, Joe Dominick and Seth Izer.

The Greencastle-Antrim Blue Devil football team pulled in a plethora of honors as the Mid-Penn Conference coaches made their all-star selections for the 2010 season. The cadre included top honors for offense and defense in the Colonial Division, along with Coach of the Year.

Devin Schaeffer was named the Offensive MVP and Denton Ensminger was named the Defensive MVP. Blue Devil skipper Chuck Tinninis was named Coach of the Year.

Ensminger was a two-way first-team pick at down lineman and interior lineman on the offense. Schaeffer was the quarterback pick on the first-team offense. Teammates joining the pair on the first-team offense were Cody Ezolt at tight tend, Gerardo Juarez at interior lineman and Tyler Szaflarski at offensive back.

Juarez and Szaflarski were dual first-team selections as well. Juarez was a first-team end pick and Szaflarski first team at linebacker. Denton Cordell was selected at defensive back on the first team.

Ezolt (end), Schaeffer (linebacker) and Cordell were recognized as picks on the second-team defense. On the offensive second team were Eric Metz (interior lineman), Denver Cordell (offensive back) and Luke Bitner (place kicker).