Ballots set for primary election

Shawn Hardy news@echo-pilot.com

The primary election is just over a month away on Tuesday, May 21, and the deadline to register to vote is Monday, April 22.

During the primary, voters from each party will select their candidates for the Nov. 5 general election. Sample ballots are now online at the Franklin County website.

Voters in Greencastle and Antrim Township will only find a few choices on their ballots when they go to the polls, all at the county and state level.

There are fewer candidates than available seats on the Greencastle-Antrim School Board, two Republicans and two Democrats have filed for four seats on Greencastle Borough Council and the one Antrim Township supervisor up for re-election is the only candidate.

Current school board members Michael Still, Shannon Blanchard, Shannon Yates and Tracy Baer and newcomer H. Carter Davidson are running on the Republican ticket for the five four-year seats on the school board and Lindsey J. Mowen, also a current board member, is the only Republican candidate for the two, two-year seats. Blanchard and Davidson cross-filed and their names are the only ones on the Democratic ticket.

Republicans Joel Amsley and H. Duane Kinzer are seeking to continue to serve on Greencastle Borough Council, filing for two of the three four-year seats. Newcomer Jeremy Layman is the only candidate on the Democratic ballot for a four-year seat. Councilman Wade Burkholder, a Democrat, is running for a two-year seat, but no Republicans filed for that position.

Republican Richard Baer is seeking re-election as Antrim Township supervisor and there is no name on the Democratic side for the one six-year term.

County and state 

Voters from both parties will choose whether to nominate Mary Beth Shank or Ian Brink for judge in the Court of Common Pleas for the 39th Judicial District.

In the race for Franklin County commissioner, the two Republican incumbents — Bob Thomas and David S. Keller — face two challengers — John Flannery and Julia Lehman — for two seats. There are just two names on the Democratic side, Commissioner Bob Ziobrowski and Sheri Morgan.

Republicans will choose between current Sheriff Jim Brown and former Sheriff Dane Anthony, but there is no Democrat running for the position.

Republicans unopposed on the ballot include Todd Rock, clerk of courts; Harold Wissinger, controller; Jeff Conner, coroner; Matt Fogal, district attorney; Timothy S. Sponseller, prothonotary; and Linda Miller, register and recorder. The only Democrat seeking a county office is Damien Buhrman, who running for register and recorder.

On the state level, three women are on both ballots for two seats on the Superior Court of Pennsylvania: Rebecca Warren, Megan McCarthy King and Christylee Peck.


Anyone who wants to register to vote must do it by Monday at the Franklin County Voter Registration Office in the Old Courthouse on Memorial Square, Chambersburg, or online at:


Monday also is the deadline for voters to change their name, address or party affiliation.

Election information, including sample ballots, can be found under the "General Government" tab on the county website:


For more information, call the Franklin County Voter Registration Office at 717-261-3886 or the Franklin County Election Board at 717-261-3810.