Two appointed to regional EMS radio network board

Andrea Rose

Two county emergency services workers will serve on a multi-county board designed to oversee an inter-county radio network.

Franklin County Department of Emergency Services Communications Coordinator Bryan Stevenson and Assistant Communications Coordinator Jason Miller were appointed by county commissioners Tuesday to serve on the South Central Inter-County Communications Network Executive Board.

The board was created to oversee an inter-county radio system created in May to improve emergency communication among responders.

South Central Inter-County Communications Network is a new Dynamic System Resilience radio network comprised of Franklin, Adams and Dauphin counties.

The multi-county system allows for quick and secure communication over a large network and offers a backup in the event of a system failure in any of the three counties.

The network is expected to save the county $1.2 million over seven years, according to John Thierwechter, director of the county department of emergency services.

Thierwechter told commissioners Tuesday each county is to have two representatives on the board.

"They have been involved in getting us to this point," said Commissioner David Keller of Stevenson and Miller. "I think it's natural they be involved."