G-AHS students inducted into National Honor Society

The newest members of the Greencastle-Antrim High School chapter of the National Honor Society were inducted Thursday evening.

With most of the Greencastle-Antrim High School National Honor Society members planning to attend college, keynote speaker Michael Hussack urged them to make good decisions. The NHS Induction Ceremony was held at the high school April 24 before a crowd of family and friends.

Hussack, retiring in June after teaching at G-AHS for 39 years, informed the students of his Theory of Relativity.

“The past happens faster than the future.”

He credited support at home with helping the seniors and juniors earn their academic achievements, and hoped their pending college memories would last longer than their student loan payments. Though significant expense was involved in gaining post-secondary education, he still believed it was the best way to land a good job.

Hussack urged the youth to invest in themselves: find a source of spiritual wealth, be physically fit, eat healthy food, read, and develop character by losing self to others. Finally, he stressed making good decisions, explaining that once he and his buddies did not. After his freshman year at college, they joined the circus as manual laborers.

“It lasted about a week,” he admitted. “Then I ran away from the circus.”

The ceremony

Musical selections were provided by NHS members, followed by a welcome from NHS president Colby Zarger. The candle-lighting ceremony was conducted by fellow officers: introduction, Molly Nowell, vice president; Scholarship, Nicole Garns, treasurer; Character, Jane Eberhardt, secretary; Leadership, Ben Hockman, and Service, Abigail Lackey, executive committee members-at-large. The explanation of the emblem was delivered by Joanna Scott, member-at-large.

Emily Nguyen and Daniel Lutz introduced the new members. Kaitlin Ganoe and Anthony Coda presented the pins and cards. Member-at-large Lauren Powers administered the oath to the inductees. Kristian Sheeley introduced the guest speaker and Edward Rife, G-AHS principal, presented the stoles. Seniors were introduced by Grace Greenlee, Whitney Singhas, Jake Kline and Garrett Poole. Zarger gave the closing remarks.

The NHS chapter advisor is DuAnne Thrush. Faculty council are Amber Bostick, Jenniffer Everetts, Hussack, Susan Kline and Nicole Paci-Funk.

NHS members

Juniors: Matthew Alexander, Haley Appleby, Ryan Baluta, Rachel Bartlett, Brittany Benachowski, Margo Blattenberger, Andrea Crider, Madison Durniak, Alana Ebbitt, Joshua Ehko, Brittany Engle, Benjamin Gowans, Grace Greenlee, Erica Helm, Sean Heraty, Jane Herman, Claudia Hissong, Hannah Holtzman, Graham Horst, Colton Hott, Luke Kayga, Sage Kendle, Samantha King, Haley Kipe, Jacob Kline, Wayne Kline, Erin Koons.

Kieran Maher, Nicholas Marconi, Ashley Martin, Alicen Moats, Rachel Monninger, Dara Murray, Brittany Newlin, Matthew Oberholzer, Hannah Peterson, Garrett Poole, Katlyn Rockers, Caroline Schemel, Abigail Simonds, Whitney Singhas, Brady Smith, Kayleigh Smith, Jared Starliper, Shelby Stouffer, Garrett Sutton, Hunter Tedrick, David Woody, Laura Yacoubian, Hannah Zimmerman; by transfer, Ian Rohrbaugh, Jasmin Wright.

Seniors: Jesse Beeler, Kaitlyn Burkett, Maylis Nichole Burns, Anthony Coda, Jacob Crist, Dakota Crown, Jane Eberhardt, Elijah Englehart, Michaela Ensminger, Kristen Fischer, Joshua Frost, Kaitlin Ganoe, Nicole Garns, Benjamin Hockman, Chloe Hoover, Rachel Horenstein, Allex Kifer, Joseph Koons, Alyssa Kreischer, William Lutz, Matthew Montedoro, Samantha Morgan, Alexandra Mowen, Emily Nguyen, Molly Nowell, Madison Onomastico, Abigail Pool, Lauren Powers, Ryan Ricci, Dylan Rohrer, Tabitha Tudy, Joanna Scott, Kristian Sheeley, Fatimah Spall, Heidi Stein, Shelby Trail, Cassandra Varner, Ashley Williams, Moriah Woods, Colby Zarger.