New members inducted into G-AHS National Honor Society

Staff Writer
Echo Pilot
Forty-eight students were inducted into the National Honor Society during a ceremony April 26 at Greencastle-Antrim High School.

Forty-eight students were inducted into the National Honor Society during a ceremony April 26 at Greencastle-Antrim High School.

Nathan Hykes gave the welcoming and closing remarks at the event that featured a candle-lighting ceremony that focused on the four characteristics of National Honor Society (NHS) members. Presenters were: Sarah Gipe on scholarship; Zaira Gomez on character; Caleb Bartlett on leadership; Casey Zarger on leadership. Joseph Wentz explained the NHS emblem.

The introduction of new members was made by Shelby Smith and Ethan Koons. Katie Fisher,   Ammarah Spall and Ryan Frost presented them pins and cards to the new members. Brandon Garlitz    administered the oath.

The new members were seniors Abigail Byers and Austin Stoler; and juniors Lorraine Armstrong, Holden Baker, Ryan Blair, Eli Bock, Cory Bontrager, Blair Boscolo, Raeven Cogan, Callie Coleman, Maggie Crawford, Lauren Durniak, Stephen Ernharth, Justina Fala, Zachary Faulkner, Savannah Fritz, Nakita Gearhart, Noah Graham, Cameron Grosh, Carly Hafer, Amber Harbaugh, Madeline Heraty, Paul Herman, Kristin Hoffman, Sharon Juarez, John Klink, Hannah Lougheed, Hailee Martin, Mariah Martin, Megan Martin, Kelsey Mellott, Kaitlyn Moore, Megan Oberholzer, Aubree Poole, Jared Poper, Hunter Rodgers, Jeffrey Seilhamer, Evan Smith, David Spinder, Joshua Spoonhour, Kayla Starr, Daniel Stepler, Ronnie Stine, Austin Stouffer, Jacob Warren, Jason Yoder, Logan Zehrung and Cassidy Zimmerman.

The keynote speaker at the ceremony, former G-AHS teacher Ken Shull, was introduced by Patti Kotrady.

G-AHS principal Ed Rife presented stoles to the senior NHS members, who were instroduced by Lauren Durniak, Paul Herman,    Hailee Martin and Jason Yoder.

Senior members of NHS are Meaghan Baluta, Caleb Bartlett, Taylor Blattenberger, Ema Bobbitt, Greg Boyer, Abigail Byers, Courtney Campbell, Brooke Daley, Katie Fisher, Ryan Frost, Brandon Garlitz, Sarah Gipe, Zaira Gomez, Josh Horenstein, Nathan Hykes, Brooke Kerstetter, Rachel Kline, Ethan Koons, Patricia Kotrady, Jenna Lehman, Megan Misiak, Grant Murray, Danae Oliver, Nicholas Potter, Travis Rawlings, Coby Salmon, Jordyn Shepherd, Sabrina Smith, Shelby Smith, Ammarah Spall, Austin Stoler, Lindsey Sutton, Tyler Szaflarski, Brianna Thomas, Brittany Thomas, Spencer Vanhoose, Sabrina Wagaman, Joseph Wentz, Skylynn Whittington and Casey Zarger.

Musical selections were offered by Skylynn Whittington. A reception followed in the cafeteria.