G-AHS Field Band to host 34th Autumn Festival Saturday

Staff Writer
Echo Pilot

The 34th annual Autumn Festival, sponsored by the Greencastle-Antrim Band Boosters will be held at 6:30 p.m. Saturday, Sept. 24 on Kaley Field.

The Cavalcade of Bands field competition will feature five high schools bands. It will also feature the Greencastle-Antrim High School Field Band and two college bands performing in exhibition and the Greencastle-Antrim Middle School Band performing the Star Spangled Banner.

High school bands competing will be Littlestown, Francis Scott Key, James Buchanan, South Hagerstown and New Oxford.

Joining the host band in exhibition will be bands from Shepherd College and Shippensburg University.

Advance tickets available from G-AHS band members or from the high school band office are $7 for adults and $5 for students/senior citizens. Tickets at the gate cost $8 for adults and $6 for students/senior citizens.

The Greencastle-Antrim High School Blue Devil Marching Band 2011 program is entitled “Moravian Folk Rhapsody”, a setting of six Moravian folk dances from the Czech Republic by Robert Sheldon.  "Stoji hruska v oudoli" is a fast-paced two-step dance.  "Rozluc se Ancicko" features a mournful clarinet solo in the beginning and then a slow ballad. "Preskoda nastokrat" is a highly rhythmic piece in a moderate tempo that features a brief brass trio. "Ma zlata maticka" begins with an unaccompanied alto saxophone solo, followed by a folk dance that begins slowly and increases in tempo. "Vojaci jedou" is a proud and uplifting march in three-quarter time. "U Klá_tera pole" ends the rhapsody with a lively dance that builds to a rousing conclusion.

This year's band consists of 41 playing members along with 10 color guard members and is under the command of drum majors, Ethan Koons and Patti Kotrady.  Band student leaders are Maggie Rose Crawford, Caleb Eberly, Hailee Martin, Sean Martin, Megan Oberholzer, Hunter Rawlings and Kayla Starr, along with assistant drum major Carly Hafer. Percussion student leaders are Colin Maher, Megan Martin, Jared Poper and Mike Seville while the guard captain is Danae Oliver.

The band has a long tradition of excellence in field band competition, which includes a five-time T.O.B. Chapter VI Champion, an 11-time T.O.B. Atlantic Coast finalist, three-time U.S.S.B.A. champion and a two-time champion of Cavalcade of Bands. Most recent honors include the 2010 American Open Champion of Cavalcade of Bands, 2005 Independence Open Champion of Cavalcade of Bands and runner-up finishes in the 2006, 2007 and 2009 American Conference Open Championships of Cavalcade of Bands.    

Featured soloists in this year’s show are: Megan Oberholzer - clarinet, Caleb Eberly - trumpet, Hailee Martin - mellophone, Sean Martin - trumpet, Sierra Wagaman - mellophone, Patti Kotrady - trombone, Carly Hafer - alto saxophone, Hunter Rawlings - alto saxophone, Ethan Koons - trumpet, Kyle Hayes - tuba, Kelly Rhoe - guard, Danae Oliver - guard, Ashlyn Hostetter - guard,  Shanell Blubaugh - guard and Jennifer Seilhamer - guard.

This year's band staff consists of: band director - Samuel Forney; guard instructors - Jay Wetzel and Kelly Bouder; pit percussion instructor - Brock Bricker; percussion instructor - Jeff Carty; visual coordinators - Ryan Eberly and Rod Walters; percussion instructor - Todd Seville; percussion volunteer - Ryan Carty; woodwind/marching and maneuvering instructor - Evan Zimmerman; drill designer - Richard Boandl.