Middle school musicians to perform holiday concert

Staff Writer
Echo Pilot

The Greencastle-Antrim Middle School Music Department will present its Holiday Concert at 7 p.m. Monday, Dec. 20 in the high school auditorium.

The sixth-grade band, directed by Alyson Zeigler, will begin the program with Festive March and continue with a special arrangement of Santa Claus is Coming to Town, several well-known Christmas carols in A Suite of Carols and a lively tune called Chanukah Folk Song.

Student leaders in the sixth-grade band are Hannah Salazar, Lauren Davidson, Jeremy Grabowski and Jenna Carty.

Joyce E. Gerstenlauer directs the middle school choral performing groups.

The sixth-grade chorus will sing the ever-famous "Carol of the Bells" with Hannah Salazar accompanying, "Christmas Calypso" and "Peace I Leave With You" that includes sign language and flute.

The seventh- and eighth-grade chorus will perform "Candlelight," "Jubilate Deo," "We Go Together" and Mozart's "Gloria" with Harrison Scott accompanying.  

Three other vocal groups will perform. The girls ensemble consists of 14 singers. Boyz Noyz is compossed of nine  singers. Both of these groups attended day-long festivals in November. The middle school show choir of 32 singers recently performed at Hersheypark's Candylane with solos, props and choreography.

The seventh- and eighth-grade chorus leadership consists of president, Zoe Huston; vice president,  Rowan Lewis; secretary, Jillian Barr; and treasurer, Chris Puffenbarger.

The sixth-grade chorus officers are president, Corrine Statler; vice president, Sarah Cortez; and treasurer, Michael Budner.

The middle school band, under the direction of Eric J. Plum, will perform a varied selection of pieces, including Badge of Honor, a march by Ken Harris; an adaptation of O Come, O Come Emanuel titled Medieval Christmas that features trumpet fanfares; a medley of familiar Christmas songs; Feliz Navidad which highlights the percussion section.

Student leaders in the band include: Ali Moats, drum major; Andrea Crider, assistant drum major; president, Brittany Benachowski; vice president, Kieran Maher; secretary, Alana Ebbitt; and treasurer, Brittany Engle.

The bands and choirs will perform an abbreviated concert for the student body on Dec. 23.