Pa's Move Over Law protecting emergency response areas takes effect at end of April

Not observing the law carries fines of $500-$2000 and a license suspension.

Ted Czech
York Daily Record

Pennsylvania's Move Over Law — requiring drivers to safely merge away from an emergency response area — takes effect on April 27, according to PennDOT.

Drivers who cannot move over safely must slow to at least 20 mph less than the posted speed limit.

PennDOT defines an emergency response area as one "where an emergency vehicle has its lights flashing, or where road crews or emergency responders have lighted flares, posted signs, or try to warn travelers."

Responders include police, fire, and ambulance crews, as well as stopped tow trucks and maintenance vehicles. In addition, drivers must move over or slow down when approaching a stopped trash or recycling truck, PennDOT said.

More:Road work in 2021: What's planned in central Pennsylvania, plus the pandemic's impact

More:Road work ahead: Residents, businesses face more construction along Mount Rose Avenue

The penalties for not complying with the law start at a $500 fine for first-time offenders, $1,000 for a second offense, and $2,000 and a 90-day license suspension for a third or following offense.

"Penalties are increased for incidents that seriously injure or kill another person," according to PennDOT.

Pennsylvania's Move Over Law takes effect on April 27, 2021. If you can safely move over, you must and if not, slow down to at least 20 mph.

The law also covers disabled vehicles when they display at least two of the following markings: Vehicular hazard signal lamps, caution signs or other traffic control device

road flares, PennDOT said.

Ted Czech is a multi-platform crime/emergency journalist with The York Daily Record. He can be reached at tczech@ydr.com, at 717-771-2033 or on Twitter at @TedCzechYDR