Voters to head to polls May 17

Staff Writer
Echo Pilot

Franklin County voters will go to the primary polls Tuesday, May 17 to select party candidates for the fall general election.

In addition to a contested Republican race for Franklin County Commissioner, Greencastle-Antrim voters will have a selection on the Republican side for Antrim Township Supervisor, however write-in votes could have a bearing on how much the field is trimmed. Also of interest is a nine candidate field for Greencastle-Antrim School Board. All are cross-filled for five seats that will be available.

Two six-year Antrim supervisor terms will be open and four names are on the Republican ballot. Pat Heraty, Larry Eberly, Sam Miller and John Alleman are vying for the nomination. Republican voters will be asked to cast their ballot for not more than two. There are no candidates on the Democrat primary ballot, however write-ins are possible. The term for the office is six years.

For school board, voters on each ballot can vote for not more than five. Candidates are listed in differing order on each ballot. The candidates for the four-year terms are Howard B. Ritchey, Tracy L. Baer, Michael Still, Ken Haines, Sheldon A. Schwartz, Paul Politis, Mellinda E. Cordell, Eric Holtzman and Linda K. Farley.

There are four candidates for Greencastle Borough Council, which will have three open seats for the fall election. Three are listed on the Republican ballot and voters can select up to three. They are Frank Webster Jr., James R. (Jim) Farley and H. Duane Kinzer. Wade G. Burkholder is the single candidate on the Democratic ballot.

Duane Cunningham is the lone candidate on both party ballots for a six-year term as magisterial district judge. William P. Needy is the only candidate listed for Antrim Township auditor. He is on the Democratic ballot for the six-year term position.

Four candidates are seeking the two Republican nominations for Franklin County Commissioner. They are Larry E. Funk, Dan Pellicano, Bob Thomas and David S. Keller. On the Democratic ballot where voters can select up to two, two are on the ballot. Garry Gontz and Bob Ziobrowski are seeking the nod. All three commissioner seats will be open for election in the fall.

Just one other countywide office is contested in the primary with Linda Beard and John D. Cook seeking the Republican nomination for prothonotary. Uncontested on the Republican ballot for county offices are Bill Vandrew for clerk of courts, Carol Fix Diller for controller, Jeff Conner for coroner, Matt Fogel for district attorney, Linda Miller for register and recorder and Dane M. Anthony for sheriff.

Pennsylvania voters will have several choices for state judgeships.

Precincts will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Election information is available by visiting or calling 261-3886.

The general Municipal Election is set for Tuesday, Nov. 8.