Baer elected Antrim chair, appointees named


One member of the Antrim Township Municipal Authority was not reappointed Monday night as township supervisors reorganized for 2010.

Roy Baum, who had expressed interest in staying on the authority, was replaced by Michael Chad Murray, who had submitted a letter of interest.

Rick Baer, absent from the Jan. 4 meeting, was elected chairman on a Fred Young III/Curtis Myers motion. James Byers and Sam Miller also voted yes.

Byers nominated Miller for vice chairman. It died for lack of a second. Miller nominated Byers. No second was forthcoming and Byers also declined the position. Young then nominated Myers, which Byers seconded, and it passed 4-0.

Joyce A. Nowell was appointed treasurer; administrator Brad Graham, assistant treasurer; Mary Klein, secretary; Paul Minnich, roadmaster; John Lisko, solicitor; Deb Hoff, Planning Commission solicitor; Eileen Finucane, Zoning Hearing Board solicitor; and Lisko, interim ATMA solicitor.

Engineers serving the township were held to 2009 rates, which in many cases had not risen from 2008. The companies are Martin and Martin, Brinjac, Frederick Seibert and Associates, and Dewberry-Goodkind, Inc.

Incumbents Joel Wenger and Delbert Myers were reappointed to the Planning Commission; Phillip Oberholzer to the Zoning Hearing Board; Jon Snavely for one year, at his request, to the Park Committee (instead of three years); and Cheryl Shields as a non-voting member of the Park Committee. J. Thomas Shook was named chairman of the Vacancy Board.

The supervisors will serve on various committees: Parks, Baer; Roads, Baer and Miller; Economic Development, Myers and Young; Personnel, Myers and Miller; Chamber of Commerce, Young; Greencastle-Antrim Area Development Corporation representatives, Young and Myers; Franklin County Emergency Services Alliance, Minnich and Graham;

Franklin County Council of Governments, Graham, delegate, Young, alternate; Citizens Advisory Committee, Baer; Comprehensive Plan Review, Young and Byers, with Miller and Myers as alternates. Trustees for park expenses from landfill park funds are Miller and Baer. The EMS/Fire and Police, and Intergovernmental and Joint Venture committees were eliminated.

A Finance Committee will not be formed. Graham had requested a committee to include supervisors to discuss financial matters and make recommendations to the board, and in response to auditing firm Boyer and Ritter’s suggestion that someone review bank statements. The board decided instead to have Antrim elected auditors handle the task.

The board met in executive session to discuss personnel.