Bands to compete on Kaley Field Saturday night

Staff Writer
Echo Pilot
Greencastle-Antrim High School Field Band

The 35th Autumn Festival, sponsored by the Greencastle-Antrim Band Boosters, will be held at 6:30 p.m. Saturday, Sept. 22 on Kaley Field. The event will be conducted under the rules and judges of the Cavalcade of Bands.

Advance tickets for adults are $7 and students and senior citizens pay $5. The gate price for tickets is $8 for adults and $6 for students and senior citizens.

Participating bands in competition will be the Delone Catholic, Eastern York, Littlestown, Conestoga Valley, Francis Scott Key, Boonsboro, James Buchanan and South Hagerstown.

The host Greencastle-Antrim High School Field Band will perform in exhibition its 2012 show, "A River Medley", in exhibition.

The 82-member Greencastle-Antrim Middle School band, under the direction of Eric J. Plum, will also be performing at the event. The young group will play The Star Spangled Banner and Street March. The drum major is Haven Seville and the assistant drum major is Paige Kaetzel.

The 2012 Greencastle-Antrim High School Field Band consists of 33 playing members and 14 color guard members and is under the command of drum majors Carly Hafer and Kayla Starr.

 Band student leaders are Maggie Rose Crawford, Madeline Heraty, Allex Kifer, Hailee Martin, Alex Mowen, Emily Nguyen, Megan Martin, Sean Martin, Megan Oberholzer, Mark Peters, Jared Poper, Nicole Williams, along with assistant drum major Caleb Eberly.

The band has a long tradition of excellence in the field band competition, which includes a five-time T.O.B. Chapter VI Champion, an 11-time T.O.B. Atlantic Coast Finalist, three-time U.S.S.B.A Champion and a two-time Champion of Cavalcade of Bands. Most recent honors include the 2010 American Open Champion of Cavalcade of Bands, 2005 Independence Open Champion of Cavalcade of Bands and second place finishes in the 2006, 2007 and 2009 American Conference Open Championships of Cavalcade of Bands.

The 2012 field presentation is “A River Medley”. The show will feature music from “Riverdance”, as well as Steven Reineki’s “Into the Raging River”. Opening the show will be a medley from “Riverdance”, featuring “Cloudsong”, “Riverdance”, “The Heart’s Cry”, “Women of the Sidhe” and “Andalucia.” Concluding the show is “Into the Raging River”, which depicts the thrill of running the rapids and plunging over the falls.

Featured soloists are: Sean Martin, trumpet; Allex Kifer, trombone; Nicole Williams, trombone; Caleb Eberly, trumpet; Jasmin Wright, trumpet; Hailee Martin, mellophone; Maggie Rose Crawford, piccolo; Shanell Blubaugh, guard; Ashlyn Hostetter, guard; Jennifer Seilhamer, guard; and Kelly Rhoe, guard.

This year’s band staff consists of : Samuel Forney, band director; Jay Wetzel and Kelly Bouder, guard instructors; Brock Bricker, pit percussion instructor; Jeff Carty, percussion instructor; Ryan Eberly, visual instructor; Todd Seville, percussion instructor; Evan Zimmerman, woodwind/M&M instructor; Richard Boandl, drill designer.